Members of three mammalian orders, Carnivora [carnivores, including the pinnipeds (seals and sea lions) and otters], Cetacea (dolphins and whales), and Sirenia (manatees and dugongs), live and feed at sea. In all groups, lactation entails production of a fat- and energy-rich milk, either to promote deposition in the young of an insulating layer of subcutaneous fat, or to cover high metabolic costs of life at sea. Yet there are remarkable differences in all other aspects of lactation, including duration, pattern of nursing, growth of the young, and milk and energy outputs. In this article, the unusual lactation patterns seen among the three orders of marine mammals are briefly reviewed.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
101 Everyday Tips for Losing 10 Pounds

101 Everyday Tips for Losing 10 Pounds

Studies show obesity may soon overtake tobacco as the leading cause of death in world. Who Else Could Use 101 'Everyday' Ways to Lose 10 Pounds or more and Keep it Off! You've been putting it off too long. Hey, everyone needs to lose weight from time to time. You're no different!

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment