Background Definition

Primary cutaneous T-cell lymphomas (CTCL) represent a heterogeneous group of extranodal non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, of which mycosis fungoides/Sezary syndrome are the most common clinicopathological subtypes.1 Mycosis fungoides is characterised by distinct clinical stages of cutaneous disease consisting of patches/plaques, tumours and erythroderma in which the whole skin is involved. Peripheral adenopathy may or may not be present. Sezary syndrome is defined by the presence of erythroderma, peripheral lymphadenopathy and a minimum number of Sezary cells within the peripheral blood. These clinicopathological entities are closely related pathogenetically but are distinct from other less common types of primary CTCL.

Figure 27.2 Plaque stage mycosis fungoides (IB/IIA)
Figure 27.1 Patch stage mycosis fungoides (IA)

Figure 27.3 Tumour stage mycosis fungoides (IIB)

Figure 27.4 Erythrodermic mycosis fungoides (III)
0 0

Post a comment