Functional Anatomy

The vertebral column serves as the central supporting structure for the head and trunk and provides bony protection for the spinal cord. It consists of 33 vertebrae: 7 cervical, 12 thoracic, 5 lumbar, 5 sacral (fused to form the sacrum), and 4 coccygeal, which are usually fused ( Fig 248-1).

FIG. 248-1. The vertebral column. There are three vertebrae divided into cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral, and coccygial.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Peripheral Neuropathy Natural Treatment Options

Peripheral Neuropathy Natural Treatment Options

This guide will help millions of people understand this condition so that they can take control of their lives and make informed decisions. The ebook covers information on a vast number of different types of neuropathy. In addition, it will be a useful resource for their families, caregivers, and health care providers.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment