Cranial Nerves Associated Motor and Sensory Nuclei

There are 12 paired cranial nerves, numbered in Roman numerals from the most rostral (in the forebrain) to the most caudal (in the lower brain stem). The nerves are named for their particular functions (the "oculomotor" nerves move the eyes) or for some other notable property ("trigeminal," meaning "three twins," is the name given to the fifth cranial nerve; "vagus," meaning "wanderer," is the name for the 10th cranial nerve).

Figure 2 (continued)

Some of the cranial nerves are motor, some are sensory, and some are mixed (Table II).

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Breaking Bulimia

Breaking Bulimia

We have all been there: turning to the refrigerator if feeling lonely or bored or indulging in seconds or thirds if strained. But if you suffer from bulimia, the from time to time urge to overeat is more like an obsession.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment