Afferent Components

Components of six cranial nerves could arguably be assigned to the traditional category of special afferent. The facial (VII), glossopharyngeal (IX), and vagus (X) nerves have SVA components for taste sensation. The olfactory nerve (I) is sometimes classified as SVA, and the terminal nerve could be provisionally included in this category as well. The vestibulocochlear nerve (VIII) is traditionally classified as SSA. Of the nondiencephalic sensory cranial nerves, only the trigeminal nerve (V) and small components of VII, IX, and X have been classified as GSA. The fourth traditional afferent category of GVA has been assigned to the neurons of the glossopharyngeal and vagus nerves that predominantly innervate the visceral structures of the body cavities. What all these sensory cranial nerve components have in common is that their bipolar neurons are embryologically derived from the same two tissues: neural crest and/or placodes.

Breaking Bulimia

Breaking Bulimia

We have all been there: turning to the refrigerator if feeling lonely or bored or indulging in seconds or thirds if strained. But if you suffer from bulimia, the from time to time urge to overeat is more like an obsession.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment