Cranial Nerves Iii Iv and VI

These three nerves are grouped together because they all are exclusively involved with eye movements, and routine clinical testing of these movements permits a quick survey of the function of each nerve. The oculomotor nerve (CN III) originates from the oculomotor nucleus in the midbrain and innervates the following muscles: the levator palpebrae, which raises the eyelid; the superior rectus, inferior rectus, medial rectus, and inferior oblique, which mediate most voluntary directions of gaze; and the pupillary sphincter, which constricts the pupil of the eye when light stimulation is provided. The trochlear nerve (CN IV) also begins in the midbrain but innervates only the superior oblique muscle; this muscle moves the eye downward and laterally. The abducens nerve (CN VI) comes from the pons and supplies the lateral rectus muscle, which allows lateral deviation (abduction) of the eye.

Breaking Bulimia

Breaking Bulimia

We have all been there: turning to the refrigerator if feeling lonely or bored or indulging in seconds or thirds if strained. But if you suffer from bulimia, the from time to time urge to overeat is more like an obsession.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment