Parts Of The Cerebral Cortex

The absence of clear anatomical boundaries has encouraged the development of numerous approaches to the subdivision of the cerebral cortex. The most commonly used map is based on Korbinian Brod-mann's parcellation of the cerebral hemispheres into more than 50 areas, each characterized by a specific pattern of neuronal density and lamination (Fig. 1). These cytoarchitectonic areas can be divided into five major functional zones: limbic, paralimbic, heteromodal association, unimodal association, and primary sensory-motor. The principal factual base for this functional categorization is derived from experiments in macaque monkeys. The homologies to the human brain have been inferred from comparative cytoarch-itectonics, electrophysiological recordings, functional imaging, and the behavioral effects of focal lesions.

All About Alzheimers

All About Alzheimers

The comprehensive new ebook All About Alzheimers puts everything into perspective. Youll gain insight and awareness into the disease. Learn how to maintain the patients emotional health. Discover tactics you can use to deal with constant life changes. Find out how counselors can help, and when they should intervene. Learn safety precautions that can protect you, your family and your loved one. All About Alzheimers will truly empower you.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment