Accreditation Programs

As well stated by David Burnett,[2] there are four essential elements in any accreditation system and they are described as:

1. The Standards with which a laboratory has to comply in order to gain accreditation.

2. The accreditation body which oversees the assessment and grants accreditation.

3. The assessors or inspectors who seek to establish compliance with the standards by conducting the assessment.

4. The user laboratory which is required to, or voluntarily seeks to, comply with the standards by being assessed.

An increasing consensus has been reached to recommend the adoption of ISO 15189 as the standard of choice for medical laboratories that seek to receive accreditation. Professional organizations (CPA) have immediately declared the acceptance of the new standards, whereas some accreditation bodies have been reluctant to adopt this standard, but at a recent General Assembly of the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (, endorsed by the European Cooperation for Accreditation (EA), the value of ISO

15189 as an alternative to ISO/IEC 17025 for laboratory accreditation has been established. A recent survey in Europe and elsewhere indicates than an overwhelming majority of accrediting bodies are choosing ISO 15189 as the International Standard against which to accredit medical laboratories.

Regarding the accreditation body, ISO 15189 states that ''...a laboratory seeking accreditation select an accreditation body which operates to appropriate standards and which takes into account the particular requirements of medical laboratories.'' Therefore it can be a specific accreditation body with formal links with existing national accreditation bodies, a subbranch of the national accreditation body, specifically directed to use ISO 15189 for the assessment of medical laboratories, or a professional organization (CPA in the United Kingdom, CCKLTest in the Netherlands, APL in Italy).

One of the major duties of the accreditation body is to take care of the education, training, retraining, and assessment of inspectors. Different types of inspectors exist: full-time ''peers,'' part-time ''peers,'' and external inspectors. The advantages and disadvantages of the different types of inspectors have been described. Taking into consideration the particular nature of ISO 15189, inspectors should assure the evaluation of technical competence in addition to assessment of the quality system.[13] Therefore, they have to demonstrate competence in laboratory medicine and, in particular, in all sectors of activity of the inspected laboratory.

Getting Started With Dumbbells

Getting Started With Dumbbells

The use of dumbbells gives you a much more comprehensive strengthening effect because the workout engages your stabilizer muscles, in addition to the muscle you may be pin-pointing. Without all of the belts and artificial stabilizers of a machine, you also engage your core muscles, which are your body's natural stabilizers.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment